Friday, August 22, 2014

Kewaunee County & Pre-World War ll Conscription


Memories of World War l were fresh in the minds of Kewaunee County residents when less than 20 years later conscription started all over again. In 1939 there were quotas to be met, quotas set in Washington D.C. There were some who enlisted, but most were drafted during a time when the U.S. was gearing up for war that had not been declared.

Then came December 7, 1941 and the attack at Pearl Harbor, followed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Declaration of War on Japan. Two days later Germany and Italy declared war on the U.S., a declaration met with Roosevelt's own the next day.

In the years following the first World War, residents knew how much Kewaunee County had sacrificed, maybe more than many others. During World War l, county men were exceptionally physically fit, but in less than 20 years that changed. When drafting started in 1939, many were rejected as unfit. No doubt changes in vision, hearing and other standards made part of the difference. 

Men throughout the country were issued numbers, and numbers drawn in Washington indicated the order in which men would be called. Number 258 was the number everybody was glad they didn't have. It was still fresh in memory from the last war. Drawings in Washington for 21 year olds meant that Vernon Hearley and Francis Makovec were Kewaunee County's first 21 year old draftees. Ironically, while the men were being drafted in 1939, county men who served in World War l were being awarded their Purple Hearts. Those from Algoma included Louis Kirchman, C.A. Lidral, C.W. Zastrow, Urban Kashik, Quiren Groessl, Clarence Capelle, Joseph Guillette, Frank Havel, Auggie Wasserbach, Anton Weisner, Fred Zastrow and George Jorgenson.

Algoma Record Herald office was a designated U.S. Navy "sub-station." It had the necessary information which also pointed out that education, all food and lodging, a set of clothing, and free sports and entertainment that included new movies were provided to those who joined the Navy. All that plus free travel. According to the information supplied, the Navy was "better than civilian life."

The U.S. didn't have much of a military when things exploded in Europe in 1914. When it entered the war in 1917, there still wasn't much of a military and men were sent to the battlefields of Europe with very little training. That was changing even before Pearl Harbor.

As Kewaunee County men were inducted, there was usually a little send-off at the courthouse. When Algoma attorney J.H. McGowan spoke to the departing men, he must have been thinking about Abraham Lincoln's words, "We cannot escape history." McGowan told the men that "perhaps" within their lifetime, there would be a time when they would not see soldiers marching off. And that was 75 years ago! McGowan said that he wasn't one of those afraid that "Hitler is coming over here" and went on to say that preparedness would have saved the U.S. from "trouble" in the last war. He told the inductees how he saw local men, including his own son, leave totally untrained. He told them that unlike the last war they were enroute to training and schooling. He told them that European allies agreed that Americans paid such a high price in World War l because there was such lack of proper training. He went on to say that future regular military training was probably going to be  "part and parcel" of necessity. McGowan probably would not have agreed with General George Patton who said, "War is the only place where a man truly lives."

The public spirited James McGowan was an Algoma attorney who also served as mayor. McGowan had interesting beginnings as a rural school teacher at Ryan, at the age of 17. He entered law in Green Bay in 1892 and was admitted to the bar in 1894. As Algoma's Ward l supervisor to the county board, McGowan was elected for his first term as chairman in 1912. He continued to serve on a number of committees at the local and county level and served as Food Administrator during World War l. McGowan died in 1942 and never lived to see his vision of the day when young men were no longer marching off to war.

Sources: Information comes from Algoma Herald and Algoma Record, Kewaunee County Board files found at the ARC at UW-GB, and Commercial History of Algoma, WI c. 2006. The World War l soldier photo is one from the blogger's family..





Monday, August 18, 2014

Kewaunee County Dance Halls and the 1924 Regulations


Until the last generation, the hard-working folks of Kewaunee County were mostly farmers. As farming began changing, many began “working out” in addition to running the farm, and lives became much different than parents, grandparents and immigrant ancestors had known. Germans, Bohemians and Belgians began flocking to the new county over 100 years earlier. They eked out a living – sometimes meagerly – to provide a new life. They had immigrated for opportunity. They wanted land. They wanted to have a choice in determining the course of life. They wanted to be free of conscription and they wanted to worship as they chose.
The immigrants brought with them their language, their customs and their culture. Each group brought their beer and their dances. Beer and dancing went together. Most major intersecting roads had a church and a saloon and hall. Sometimes there were schools and blacksmith shops. Then came the cheese factories, often a store and perhaps a hotel. Until Rural Free Delivery came to Kewaunee County in 1904, one of the businessmen was generally the postmaster..

Carnot Band, 1910
It was then that communities such as Zavis in Carlton and Darbellay in Red River began their demise. But, Stangelville, Ellisville, Dyckesville, Neuren, Lincoln, and so many other places with taverns and halls remained. Kewaunee County had almost as many dance bands as there were halls. The places were the scenes of countless wedding dances featuring such orchestras as Blahnik, Nejedlo, Yindra, Schlies, Duescher, Stahl, Froelich, Petrosky, Mahlik, Sazama, Johanek, Walecka, Hunsader, Feld and more.
The hard-working folk could dance and drink the night away and then, after a few hours sleep, get up to milk and put in a day’s work. In many communities, if the dance followed a Saturday Catholic wedding, the pastor would admonish the bridal couple saying the dance had to end at midnight so attendees would not miss their Sunday obligation, which was attendance at Mass. Bohemian historian R. Selner recalled that the success of a dance was measured in a good fight.
In 1922 somebody in government realized that dance halls across Wisconsin were not regulated as so many other things were. There were rules of conduct for conducting such places in larger cities, but certainly not in places such as Rosiere or Tonet. Then came the rules for dance hall regulation from the Municipal Information Bureau of the University of Wisconsin Extension. The brochure pointed out what cities in other states had done and went on to tell about stringent ordinances in places such as Milwaukee and LaCrosse. But only two counties outside the big cities were regulated at the time. And times were about to change.
Up to that point, Wisconsin had not seen fit to regulate the dance halls, but there were those social agencies and individuals – surely the most righteous - clamoring for such laws. Some states prohibited what some felt was immoral dancing and prohibited admittance to those of known “low character.” Who determined immoral dancing and low character wasn’t spelled out. There were rules regarding the admittance of minors to dance halls.
When the 1922 brochure was put out, it included Madison’s new rules. It was said that was included  in the brochure because the rules were  so new and complete following “an extensive study of the subject.” It included a bibliography noting the problems involved in such places. Maybe the cities had greater problems with such dens of iniquity as regulations were being enacted as autos began replacing the horse and buggy. Prohibition was part of the issue and the new laws brought “road houses” outside the more metropolitan areas.
Dance hall regulation was much discussed throughout Kewaunee County in the early 1920s and the Normal School’s E.F. Faith wrote a letter to the Algoma Record Herald in October 1923. Feeling that the county’s innocent youth was being enticed into less than noble activities, Faith made the case for regulations.
Finally the County Board unanimously passed a dance hall ordinance that took effect in March 1924. A County Board authorized dance committee appointed inspectors for each town and owners of each of the 52 dance halls were required to buy a one year permit for $10. A dance permit, signed by the county clerk, had to be applied for 3 days before each dance. A week following the dance, the attending inspector, who received $5 for each dance, was required to give a written report concerning  the general conduct at the dance and to attest there were no violations to the law. Sunday dances became a thing of the past and those originating on Saturday had to end by 1 AM on Sunday. Hall owners could get a special permit allowing a dance after 1 AM, but only once a year. Persons under 16 were allowed admittance only when in the company of a parent or guardian. Identified ”idlers and loafers” were prohibited by law, as was the possession of alcohol. Prohibition was in effect, but alcohol was always around. Halls were to be well lit so any unchaste dancing would be quickly spotted. Any infringement of the ordinances could result in a shut down by either the County Board or the sheriff.  Each community was free to draft laws more stringent than those at the county level.  Falsifying information on permit application could bring jail.

Rhythm Boys, 1950s
Though public halls were licensed and controlled, wedding dances continued and nobody missed an opportunity to enjoy the best polka music around. Whether the regulations had any effect on the numbers of bloodied or broken noses in parking lots, who knows? Those who left the dance were forbidden to re-enter unless that re-entry was approved by the inspector. Even during the 1930s, 40s and 50s, having a few too many and looking at a fella’s girl in the wrong way, laid out more than a few with a well placed punch to the chops. As long as it was outside, the inspector probably didn't see it and, as R. Selner said, the dance was a success.
Photos are from the blogger's collection.
 

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Kewaunee County, Nancy Higgins & the 19th Amendment


August 18 marks the 94th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, the right to vote without regard to gender.  It is an understatement to say it was a long time in coming. Nationally, as early as June 1848, the Liberty Party made women’s suffrage a plank in its presidential campaign. To put that in perspective, Wisconsin achieved statehood a month earlier and what is now Kewaunee County would not exist for another 4 years. Suffrage kept surfacing across the country and on June 10, 1919, Wisconsin led the nation as the first state to ratify the 19th amendment, which Congress submitted for ratification just 6 days earlier, on June 4th. Thirty-six states were required to ratify and Tennessee rounded out that number, thus completing ratification in 1 year, 2 months and 14 days.

Questions of women’s rights in Kewaunee County were there nearly as long as the county, however it was the 1873 advent of the Ahnapee Record that moved discussion to the fore. The paper’s two founding editors, 16 year old George Wing and Charles Borgman, 17, were very young by anyone’s standards, however the two were well ahead of their time when they editorialized calling for good schools, environmental protection – although those words were never used – beautification, and women’s rights.  
Most Judeo-Christians accepted the inferiority of women. After all, Eve was responsible for “the fall” of Adam. Both Greek and Roman law regarded women as inferior, and Roman law saw a woman subject to her lord and master: her husband. Roman law was the basis for church law.  In 1873 Wing and Borgman were surely raising more than eyebrows. Following their first edition, the Kewaunee Enterprise approved of the new paper saying it included “women’s rights.” The Green Bay Advocate opined that if subsequent editions were as good as the first, the paper would be successful. The Door County Advocate didn’t agree. It said the paper was only good for “swatting flies.”
While Wing and Borgman advanced women’s rights, the Enterprise had a history of uncertainty. In May 1869, that paper complained about the equal rights convention in New York. Earlier that spring, Ahnapee’s Mrs. Nancy Almira Higgins wrote a letter concerning women’s rights and wanted it published, but in March 1869 the Enterprise was her only option. At first the letter wasn’t printed because “old Higgins was a reliable subscriber” and it was felt he would be upset enough to discontinue his subscription. When Mrs. Higgins said such treatment was an “abridgement of her rights,” the editor said he would “cheerfully” give her space in the paper.
Nancy Higgins wrote that “female men” in Chicago were lecturing about poor, weak women being robbed of their rights and being slaves to the miserable men they called husbands. Mrs. Higgins felt women didn’t have rights because they did not fight for them. As for married women voting, Mrs. Higgins felt their husbands would vote as they were told. She said she would “like to see Jeremiah Higgins vote for something I didn’t want him to.” It was Mrs. Higgins’ beliefs that women should fight more and talk less so there wouldn’t be so much “babbling” about women’s rights.
Ten years later, the Advocate had its own ideas about the women of Ahnapee. It said Ahnapee women were “jolly” because they put on men’s trousers to visit each other. It went on to say that Sturgeon Bay girls “don’t put on trousers until after marriage, but they make up for lost time.”
Women’s suffrage came in 1920. President Lyndon Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act on July 2, 1964. Women had the vote, but voting did not ensure equal rights. Jeannette Rankin was the first woman ever elected to the House of Representatives. While living in Washington State, Rankin worked tirelessly to pass the vote for women. It happened in 1911. She went on to push for the right in Montana and the vote was granted there in 1914. Congresswoman Rankin was elected in Montana in 1916 and helped push the 19th Amendment.

Remarkably, in July 1920 when Algoma Record Herald printed an article about women voting in the up-coming election, it was not with a screaming headline. The paragraphs stuck on an inside page merely pointed out that women would be voting for the first time and were eligible if they met the age, citizenship and residence requirements. The short article defined citizenship for a woman. If her husband was a citizen, so was she. If he was not, she was not. If unmarried, a woman's status reflected her father's, However, if a single woman was born in the U.S. of an alien father, she was considered Naturalized.
Nancy Higgins was in the prime of life long before Jeanette Rankin was effecting legislation and Mrs. Higgins was not the first woman to express her views in Kewaunee County. While others are written about, Mrs. Higgins was vocal and did her own writing.
If Mrs. Higgins could only return to tell another generation what it was like! Every kid graduating from Algoma High School in two, and maybe even three, generations took American and World History classes from Nancy Higgins granddaughter Alice. In another day, Nancy would surely have been listening to commercials and telling Alice, “You’ve come a long way, Baby!”

Sources: An-An-api-sebe: Where is the River? c. 2001; the photo of the Rankin statue was taken by the blogger in the Montana capitol building.
For more about the 19th Amendment, just Google.
 

Friday, August 1, 2014

A Joint Honeymoon and a 75th Anniversary


After perusing three large card stores, it was obvious that a 75th anniversary card was not to be found. Thinking about it, the market for such cards must be quite small as only two other 75th anniversaries are within memory. In a world where it is easy for a marriage to end in divorce before the thank you notes are written,  making 75 years takes more than good genes.
Ruth and Ray are celebrating a remarkable life together. They were born less than 10 miles apart just after the U.S. made its entry into World War l.  They were children during the Depression. They were in high school during the depths of it and were married as the country was coming out of it, only to be gearing up for a new war.
They participated in the same church and yet went to high schools 20 miles apart. There were no school buses in the 1930s and Ray lived with his aunt and uncle during the week, returning to his farm home 8 miles away on the weekend. Sharing a room with his cousin of the same age, the two were as close as brothers. On the first day of high school, Ruth met the junior with the locker next to hers. The upper classman was friendly to the freshman, a quiet country girl from a rural school. The girls were friendly but not part of the same crowd. Clarice was boarding while serving as a mother’s helper and domestic. She lived almost 20 miles from school and it was only her service that allowed her to go to high school during the Depression.

For the two girls and the two boys, high school was a time of scholastic awards, music awards, being prom royalty, participating in plays and school clubs. The Depression meant there was little money for anything other than necessities, however the boys had a little money and were known to chew gum. They were able to offer a piece to others. As simple as gum is, it wasn’t a thing most could not afford. The boys could even take the car to Kewaunee. It was a time when those who had cars didn’t use them because gas cost money that most did not have.
Clarice graduated first, not because she was the eldest, but because there was an error in her birth registration. Being second youngest in a large family, the year was forgotten and she entered first grade a year early. The mistake was found when her baptismal records were needed for Confirmation. She turned 17 just before high school graduation. Finding another boarding-domestic arrangement with a high school principal’s family, she was able to attend Door-Kewaunee County College. She was there when she met the boys at the high school just down the block. She and Maynard were married 6 years later.

The Depression was easing when Clarice and Maynard double-dated with Ray and his girlfriend. Imagine the surprise on the faces of the two women when they realized they’d gotten to know each other during the two years they had adjacent lockers. From then on the two couples were almost inseparable. Maynard often commented that Ray and Ruth were the “salt of the earth,” people who never gossiped or “kicked a man who was down.” After Maynard’s death, they were always there for Clarice and meant the world for her children.
In today's world nobody would think of honeymooning with another couple. But that’s just what the two couples did. Ruth and Ray married during threshing. That was not the time for a farmer to honeymoon.  Clarice and Maynard married the following June, just before haying. Pooling their meager funds, the foursome planned a trip to "The Soo" to see the locks.

Weddings were different in 1940. Breakfasts and dinners were generally at the bride’s home. An evening dance often capped off the day. Maynard had responsibilities on his parents’ farm while also being employed at Algoma Plywood. The plant was geared up for war production and getting a day off was almost unheard of, wedding or not. Maynard got his day and the couples wanted to leave immediately after the wedding dinner. Tires had inner tubes and highways were paved with gravel that was more like stones when compared to today’s graveled roads. Estimating time on the road always had to include tire changing. With three days for the trip, time was precious. Maynard’s father didn’t make things any easier as he owned a dairy and insisted on a dance for his customers.  Friends and relatives too, of course.

Finally the couples got on their way in the wee hours of the morning. The first stop was at a tourist cabin in Manitowish Waters near the site of Little Bohemia, the place made famous by the 1934 FBI-John Dillinger gang shootout.
Thoughts of the beautiful northern Wisconsin vacation spot brings uproarious laughter in our families, but that has nothing to do with Dillinger. The financially strapped, honeymooning couples rented a cabin with two beds, not two bedrooms. To offer some privacy, they strung a cord from one wall to the other and hung a blanket. At Ray and Ruth’s 70th anniversary celebration, Clarice told stories of that trip, stories the young people found hard to believe. Sharing the room on a honeymoon brought looks of disbelief and then peals of laughter. Tire blowouts, the inner tubes, the graveled highways, and a groom who was lucky to get a day off work for his wedding – all unheard of today. And, to look at the pictures…..the well-dressed men wore suits, hats and Spectator shoes. Unseen garters held their socks up.  The women wore hats and dresses and held up their silk stockings with garter belts. The silk stockings had seams in the back and every self-respecting woman checked those seams often. They had to be straight. To be traveling in less casual attire was also unheard of.

To be married for 75 years is to have seen continually changing social mores. It is more than a look at history through books and videos. It is living. Experiencing joint honeymoons and blankets affording privacy because there was no other way was part of it. All four were born during World War 1. They were children and young adults during the Depression. They married on the cusp of World War ll and lived through that. They lived through the Cold War, the Korean War, Vietnam, two Gulf wars and now Afghanistan.

Ray and Ruth have seen everything and yet are not jaded.  They have always worked hard. They are positive and optimistic. They give to God, family and community. In that order. They are truly an inspiration. And, to quote an area TV commercial, “You can’t do better than that now, can you?”

 

Monday, July 28, 2014

Kewaunee County & The Arrival of the Roberts

Just as the cement mixer was pulling out of the drive, threatening storm clouds began brewing in the west. Within seconds, and just as a farm pick-up pulled in, the rain began coming in torrents. A very agile, slightly older fellow jumped from the truck and came running with tarps that were quickly spread over the setting concrete. Emery Roberts introduced himself, told us where the tarps could be returned, jumped back into the truck and continued down the road.

It is said nobody is truly forgotten until his name is mentioned for the last time. Since that July day over 30 years ago when rain was not in the forecast, Mr. Roberts has remained in our minds. Our patio is a wonderful place, in part because of Mr. Roberts' kindness. Over the years, one Roberts or another kept surfacing in all kinds of research projects. In reading about earlier generations of Roberts, it seems the hard-working Emery was always going forward, following in the footsteps of the family that came before him.

Farmer John Roberts arrived in Wolf River* in 1856 and Jonathan Roberts, Wolf River's first blacksmith, arrived a year later. Jonathon set up in a small log shanty in  the newly platted Youngs and Steele Block 11 on land that was later George Sachtleben's shoe and harness shop on the south side of Steele, just around the corner from Jane Lovell's 1st Street Union House. Roberts held the location for some time before moving to larger quarters near the bridge, which was then at the foot of Church Street.

Jonathan, 24, and Joseph R., 17, were living with 20 year old Evan in 1860. They appear to be the sons of Godfrey. The Record referred to Jonathan as John Roberts when it reported that he was still at his craft in 1907. At the time, he was located on S. Water, now called Navarino.  Roberts purchased Lots 4 & 5 in Block 3 from Abram and Elvira Eveland and Roberts, along with Utnehmer and Perlewitz, smithed on that river site for years. Roberts was operating his blacksmith shop as late as 1907.

John married Mary White who was listed as Kate when they sold land to Ed Decker in April 1893. As early as 1861 John Roberts - not Jonathan - bought Lots 14 & 15 in Block 9 in Youngs and Steele Plat** from G.W. Elliott. John sold to Charles Hennemann a year later and Hennemann built his Cream City House, home of the most delectable 5-cent pies. Steele Street Floral is there today. During the late 1870s, one of the Roberts was engaged with Meverden in the tannery along the river on the west side of 4th, the approximate site of Bearcat's Fish Shop today. There was no 4th Street bridge at the time.

There was another blacksmith named Roberts. The Welsh-born Godfrey was listed on the 1860 census with his sons David and George, 14 and 12, respectively.  Early accounts have him living about three miles upriver on the Forestville road. Whether it is indeed true, those same accounts say his wife was the sister of John Jones, a prominent English millionaire and Queen Victoria's private banker. True or not, it made for heady gossip in the sparsely populated area. Joseph Roberts was yet another blacksmith who was running ads for his Forestville shop in 1883. Born in Wales, he too arrived in Wolf River in 1860, married Bertha Paape, and died on Christmas Eve 1905.

John and George are names found throughout the early generations and it gets confusing. George Roberts - but not the one who was a 12-year old boy in 1860 - relocated from Carlton Town to Ahnapee and was contracted to supply piles and timber for harbor work in 1871. The 1870 census for the Town of Carlton says George was 35 and born in Illinois. His 3 year old son, another George, was born in Wisconsin. George and his business partner, Mr. Johnson, got out 1,000 Norway pine timbers 22' to 30' by 12" in diameter. In the days of axes and cross-cut saws, they were busy! The spot along the river that Roberts bought from Math Kumbalek in February 1872 - Lots 1 & 2 in Block 2 - was a good place for that harbor work. There was another Roberts from Carlton who was no doubt connected to George. Thomas R. Roberts was a Civil War corporal in Kewaunee County's Co., A. His short stint in the military began on August 15, 1862 in Captain Cunningham's contingent of county men. Contracting disease, Tom Roberts was sent home to die and did so on November 6.  Also a blacksmith, George D. Roberts sold his 5th Street business in 1902 to move to Baileys Harbor where he intended to open another such venture. George D. appears to be the son of Godfrey.

An 1874 Record  article said John Roberts was remodeling the extra space in his 4th store. Roberts' Hardware stood on the site later purchased by Tifft and Hay, the northwest corner of 4th and Steele. It is not clear whether this is John the farmer or a case of Jonathon being called John.

In its first edition in 1883, the Kewaunee Times reported that Christian and James Roberts had just purchased the Ahnapee Drug Store. Dr. James A. Roberts practiced in both Algoma and Kewaunee where he and Christian had another drugstore. Christian married Kewaunee's Lizzie Wallender and James A. was involved in county government, elected coroner in 1886.
Evan Roberts was 20 when he arrived in Wolf River. Listing his occupation as a laborer, Evan bought land following  his 1860 arrival and then sold it to David Campbell. Evan seems somewhat elusive, but he must have been a carpenter because it was he who remodeled a house purchased in 1892 by his brother George D.

The 1870 Clay Banks census indicates 38 year old George M. Roberts was a fisherman. Living in household was another fisherman, Elijah Phillips. George had a son who was also George M., a 16 year old born in Maine.

George M. Roberts owned one of the six known piers in the Town of Clay Banks. His pier was at the foot of what is known as Mt. Lookout. It was one of Clay Banks' ghost piers in a forgotten community that existed only during the lumber boom following the Civil War. George M. operated a boarding house and pier in addition to his sawmill on Woodard's Creek where the small body of water that formed behind the dam was called Mirror Lake. When Roberts purchased his pier in the 1870's, he built a logging road along the lakefront north of Mt. Lookout. Because Roberts' logs were rafted out to waiting ships, it would seem his pier was probably not as long as the other Clay Banks' piers. Roberts made the Door County papers in 1873 when he rescued the crew of The Glenham, a ship loaded with bark that had just left Clay Banks' pier.

An August 1936 Algoma Record Herald reported the purchase of Mt. Lookout, Clay Banks' most historic site, and recounted its history. The paper said that when a sawmill was erected on the old mill stream in 1856, the creek was diverted across the road and a wooden dam was built. Then a water-wheel was constructed. As water became low late in summer, an engine and boiler were put in to run the mill. George Roberts - the one born in 1845 - said it was his father who purchased the land from the government and built a cabin on the creek bank.*** Roberts' property had a number of owners including Lee Woodward for whom the creek appears to be named. The article went on to say that Mr. Roberts, Sr. was the one who opened the road north of Mt. Lookout and up the hill. It was written that was the road on which logs for the mill were hauled and later brought down the hill to be made into rafts that could be towed to Spear's mill in Sturgeon Bay.

Clay Banks' historian D. Weimer said, "The creek bed goes north under the road, but there is another creek bed that runs parallel to the road!  One of those, probably the one running next to the road, is likely the streambed from the original mill.  My bet is the one next to the road, in the south ditch and the cedar trees." The lay of the logging road remains evident. Weimer further points to "the remains of a tram road running through the lawn" of a nearby home and felt the road served to transport logs from above the dam down to the mill.

One hundred fifty years after the arrival of Kewaunee County's first Roberts, descendants can be found all over Kewaunee and Door County. Glancing through a phone books reveals a couple of Johns, a James, Ivan and Tom. No Georges. More than likely, most of them are like Emery.

* Wolf River was the first name of the place that was renamed Algoma from Ahnapee in 1897. **Youngs and Steele Plat makes up most of today's downtown Algoma. It runs from the lake and river and includes the east side of 4th, making it a triangular plat. ***Patent searches do not indicate that a Roberts Patented any land in Clay Banks. Samuel and Benjamin Roberts did receive Door County land as a result of their military service, but the land was in the northern part of the county. George Roberts Patented two parcels in Kewaunee County's Town of Carlton.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Kewaunee County's Connection to the Titanic: The Minahans

When love-stricken Leonardo DiCaprio was gloriously shouting from the bow of the Titanic that he was king of the world, nobody was thinking of Kewaunee County. Why would they? Titanic was a movie that put a little romance in a tragic event. But, what was romantic in the drownings of over 1,500 people? What was romantic when people were lowered into lifeboats in the dead of night only to watch the ship split in half, knowing loved ones ere drowning? The screams and the struggling survivors in the water being pushed away from the overcrowded lifeboats paddling through floating corpses to flee the carnage were indeed remembered by two who had something to do with Kewaunee County, but DiCaprio had nothing to do with that.

Dr. William Minahan was one of about 1,500 casualties on the ship that was too big to fail, and he had Kewaunee County interests. Minahan and his brothers John and Hugh owned a maple syrup camp near Scarboro. Though William Minahan lost his life, his wife Lillian and the brothers' sister Daisy survived. They never forgot that night.

Minahan's brother Dr. John Minahan served Algoma and appears to have been practicing in Ahnapee before 1891 when a newspaper article reported that he was going to New York to further his education, after which time he intended to return to Kewaunee County. About 1900, his office was upstairs in the Boedecker Drug Store, the building on the southeast corner of 4th and Steele. His location was convenient for those patients who required medications and most convenient for those needing an excuse to use Boedecker's answer to a " one armed bandit." The building on the northwest corner of 4th and Clark, the Rouseabout today though remembered by many as Red Zastrow's bar, was built about 1900 by Dr. McMillian, the man who brought x-rays to Algoma. John Minahan practiced there in the early 1900s, a time during which he also practiced in Casco. John Minahan was a busy man as he was also an attorney who covered his bases advertising as physician, surgeon and lawyer. It is unclear just how long Dr. John was in Algoma, but he was there in 1909 when he signed this blogger's great-grandfather's death certificate. He owned property in Algoma at least to 1916 when he still had the orchard on the south side of Fremont just east of its intersection with Frank. John Minahan was born in Green Bay and died in January 1941.

John Minahan practiced in Casco, at least during 1901 and 1902, and, no doubt, longer. Brother Hugh was there too, operating the Casco store known as H.A. Minahan & Co. It is quite likely that Dr. John saw patients in quarters in Hugh's store. It is also possible John Minahan practiced there with his cousin Dr. P.R. Minahan who bought Dr. G.A. Hipke's Casco practice in 1899. P.R. served Algoma as well and located in an office in the Lidral & Andre Hardware building at the northwest corner of 4th and Steele. Hugh was another Minahan attorney. Earlier, in 1894, Hugh Minahan and Charles Slama formed a law partnership in Kewaunee where Hugh married a Kewaunee girl, Clara Moore. Hugh died in San Diego in 1936.

The maple syrup camp owned by the Minahan brothers was east of Luxemburg, off Kewaunee County Highway A near Scarboro. Over the years, the camp was operated by a number of owners, mostly notably the Milton Thibaudeau family. The Minahans had business interests throughout northeast Wisconsin, and probably beyond. The stone barn in the Town of Chase, near Pulaski, is on the State and National Historic Register. Dr.Minahan once owned that too.

About 35 or 40 years ago this blogger was in Lena helping an elderly aunt. It was on the anniversary of the Titanic,  the same day as some family birthdays. Aunt Dee was a teenager in 1912. She called to mind that  overcast, damp and dreary April 12, 1912 and said it was a day that was eerie. There were those predicting something bad would happen. “Just mark my words.” Two days later when news of the terrible event was well-known, there were a number of Lena residents there to say, "I told you so," pointing out is was they who predicted such a catastrophic event.

One would think that as obscure as Kewaunee County is on the national stage, there wouldn't be much associated it. But, there isn't much that lacks some kind of connection.
 
Pictures: The top photo is the cover of Ken Marshall's Art of Titanic, a book of his beautiful paintings. The photo of William Minahan's crypt in Allouez Cemetery was taken by this blogger.






Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Kewaunee County Summer: Get It While It Lasts!

Algoma's spectacular Crescent Beach and boardwalk was photographed in mid-May.

Living in Wisconsin means summers are short. Sometimes there isn't much time to get it all in. Summer means festivals, church picnics, outdoor concerts, family reunions, trips, baseball games,  the county fair and more. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, there are all kinds of events, most notably Algoma’s Shanty Days and Kewaunee’s Trout Festival, though most of the smaller communities have unique events as well. Throughout the county’s history, summer has brought people together in social activities, though in the early days “summer” started with steamer traffic just as soon as the ice broke.
Harriet Hall was 9 when she settled with her parents Orin and Jane Bennett Warner in the wilderness called Wolf River, Wolf River trading post or by the Ojibwa name that asked, “Where is the River?” The Potawatomie sometimes referred to the area by a word that meant “bear’s head.”* But, whatever it was called, it didn’t matter to the few residents who were always glad to see a traveler and get the news. When a traveler or a new settler had a violin, that was a reason to dance and, according to Harriet, there was always good, homemade beer to ward off the thirst.
In the later 1850s and again following the Civil War, Capt. Henry Harkins ferried people up-river to the county line home of Joseph McCormick, or even as far as Forestville, for a night of dancing. At dawn he brought folks back down river to begin the day’s work that followed dancing until the sun came up. Plying the river during the dark night or following a trail along its course was the path to disaster. Some would say those early people knew how to party, however all night parties were also respect for the darkness. Eighty or so years later when Dr. Suess wrote The King’s Stilts, he described the king as one who, when he worked,  really, really worked, and when he played, he really, really played. Suess could have based the king on the people of Ahnapee.
Although culture and refinement was said to have come to Wolf River with the 1854 landing of Simon Hall's wife Desiah, the daughter of Hanford and Elsie Smith, it took another two years before the settlement had an event about which it could boast. That first notable social occasion was the marriage of Mary Yates to Captain Charles Fellows. While the Yates-Fellows wedding was big in the small settlement, the July 4, 1858 picnic was an even bigger celebration. Held above Hall's Mill, it was the earliest settlers’ first picnic and dance.
One of Kewaunee County's largest and most impressive early social gatherings was the 1858 house warming for Mr. and Mrs. James Slausson who had moved into their Lake Street home in Kewaunee. Printed invitations were sent to everyone in the county and it seemed as if most made the trip to enjoy the party.

Other dances and parties followed, always with homemade beer. Harriet Hall often said that Wolf River was a fun-loving, music-loving community with dances such as quadrilles and waltzes, and she reminisced how Irish Sam Perry "could dance." For years following the large influx of immigrants, it seemed as if preferences in music and dance steps led to billings for American dances or for German dances. There were, however, those who felt the dances reflected the differences between the Yankees and the foreigners.

Nearly twenty years after the 1858 Independence Day party at Hall's Mill, Ahnapee celebrated the country's centennial largely because of Wenzel Wenniger. DeWayne Stebbins had just taken over the Ahnapee Record and tried stirring up interest in Independence Day, but to no avail. Then Wenniger got involved. Wenniger owned the hill, known as Wenniger Heights, on the north side of the river. On that property Wenniger built Wilhelmshoeh, a dance hall, bowling alley, two saloons - one brick and one frame - and shooting gallery. The bowling alley featured iron balls and wooden pins. Called the music pavilion, the hall was regularly used for dances and concerts and, on the last Saturday of each month, for cattle shows. It was an opportunity to buy and sell at "fair prices." Surrounding the hall was a grove of hundreds of trees, used for picnicking, a bandstand and a beer stand. Entertainment was important and sometimes came from distant areas. Before Wenniger purchased the property, it was called a “resort”  known as Summer Gardens.

Arranging the Independence Day festivities that centennial year, Winneger engaged the Ahnapee Brass Band to play for the picnic at Wilhelmshoeh. The Ahnapee String Band played for the ball on July 3 in Weilep's Hall* on the corner of Second and Steele. The First Baptist Church held a dinner and there was a centennial party and program at the school. The Record spoke of "good times" at Dettloff's and at Burke's in Pierce Town and of celebrations in Kewaunee and Sturgeon Bay. The village added to the celebration by wrapping itself in bunting, displaying flags and holding dances, ice cream socials and fireworks. Over the years,
Ahnapee was the site of number of bandstands besides Wenniger’s – on 4th, on Steele and along the lake - where the various village musical groups delighted appreciative audiences.


The photo from the L. Schwedler Andre collection dates to about 1915 when the bandstand was near the site of Algoma's present bandstand. At the far right is the first lighthouse on the end of the north pier. The pier and lighthouse were less than 20 years old at the time of the photo. The railroad and ferry depots are in the background. In 1915, the power pole and  fire hydrant were signs of progress and added to the photo's story. The women are not identified but one is no doubt a Serrahn.
As Ahnapee grew, culture and social life grew with it. Arriving immigrant populations brought more music and social societies. There was even theater in the popular McDonald Hall, and in the smaller halls as well. The Lutheran Church was opposed to what it called secret societies, such as the Knights of the Iron Band. The Sons of Herman was accepted and the Sons of Herman were not accepted. It was a German organization and it depended on who was approving or disproving. Bohemians congregated in the Sokols, and the St. George Society was the Bohemian men’s Catholic organization. The Baptists spearheaded the Temperance Society, which frowned on alcohol, and the Girls’ Friendly Society raised funds putting on community dinners. There were sporting organizations.
Baseball had such a following that the steamers carried as many as 900 passengers to games at Kewaunee, Sturgeon Bay and Two Rivers.
 
One would think that all was right, but it was not. The celebration of Independence Day 1880 was anticipated by the entire town. Heralded as a celebration that would be the largest ever, the event was advertised in nearby towns with the notice there would be "no end" of amusements for young and old. The day began with a 38-gun salute, one shot for each state in the union. There were games, bands, a parade, dancing and fireworks, but the festivities did not hide feelings of ill will within the community.

Judge Charles Griswold Boalt** was one of the speakers. In his address he seemed to be pointing out that those with less than he, financially and intellectually, should not infringe on others such as himself. Boalt’s speech railed against a minimum wage. He talked about the ignorant people accepting communism and a religious fanaticism that seemed to be directed toward Catholics. The industrious Germans were often praised by the papers, but Judge Boalt complained about them and other immigrants as well.
 
Though the Fourth of July was usually celebrated, there were years when Americans - meaning those who came from such places as  New York and Pennsylvania -  and German immigrants held their own dances, possibly due to the ill will in Ahnapee. In 1881, some said the celebration was "humbug" because it was controlled by the "damn Yankees." Fireworks continue today, but they are in the sky met with oohs and aahs.
 
Ahnapee residents celebrated Decoration Day with ceremonies befitting the veterans both alive and dead. The celebration in 1871 was no exception. Graves of deceased soldiers were decorated with flowers and evergreens. About 200 people visited the cemeteries, a number limited only by the capacity of the conveyances. Chief Marshall Major William Henry was assisted by Michael McDonald. Both men had served in the 14th Wisconsin. Captain F.W. Borcherdt, 21st Wisconsin, commanded the firing party. Rev. Overbeck gave a prayer and brief address at each grave. Flowers were scattered by 30 young ladies dressed in white, and Ahnapee's Liederkranz sang appropriate hymns. After it was all over, the Enterprise made the comment that "no village its size gave more to the soldiers than Ahnapee."
 
The following year was much the same. Major Henry again served as marshall but prayers and remarks were given in German only as Rev. S.H. Corich, who was to give prayers and remarks in English, was absent. Four hundred people and 37 teams were in the 1873 parade. At the services Michael McDonald commanded the column, J.H. Leonard was the Officer of the Day and Civil War veteran Chauncey Thayer*** commanded the firing squad. Elder T. Wilson gave the address.
 
Decoration Day 1876 was celebrated with a parade consisting of a large number of people, color bearers, the Ahnapee brass band and a firing party. They processed to the cemeteries and heard remarks by church elders. During the Civil War, when 1 of every 17 served, social life continued with such events as Donation Parties. Widows and orphans were assisted by the funds raised. Looking critically at some of the events, it could be said a bunch of “do-gooders” was making themselves feel good, but whatever the situation then, Kewaunee County has never forgotten its veterans.
 
By the mid-1880s, Civil War vets reuned at Kewaunee County fairgrounds, which was then in Kewaunee. Luxemburg is now the site of Kewaunee County’s fairgrounds and the scene of the ever-popular fair and weekly races. Kewaunee County's first fair, November 23 and 24, 1860, was held in the dance hall of the Steamboat House* in Kewaunee. The weather was cold, the turnout disappointing and the men and women of Kewaunee took most of the prizes. In the span of  150 years, there were years when there was no fair. Over all those years, the fair changed to the anticipated summer event that it is today.
 
Today’s papers list the events that those of 1870 would not comprehend. They would, however, recognize summer and social activities. They would empathize that winter always looms and for many winter frequently means isolation. Not foreseeing advances in transportation, they would surely tell today’s residents to hitch up the wagon and get out there because it is summer, and there is always plenty to do in Kewaunee County.
 
Notes:.*Weilep's Hall still stands as the remodeled and refurbished Stebbins Hotel. **Charles Griswold Boalt was said to have come to town with $400,000 in his pocket. That made him the richest man in town in those days and he was one with whom most did not trifle. His one term as a county judge earned him "Judge Boalt," rather than "Mr." The community of Bolt was named for him, first being named Boalt. For more on Boalt/Bolt, see Here Comes the Mail: Post Offices of Kewaunee County, c. 2008 by Kannerwurf, Sharpe & Johnson. ***Chauncey Thayer was the first Kewaunee Co. enlistee in the Civil War. Kewaunee's Steamboat House was on the approximate spot of the hotel best remembered as the Karsten.

Sources:  An-An-api-sebe: Where is the River? c. 2001, Johnson; The History of Commercial Development in Algoma, WI, Vol 1, 2008, Johnson, Nell, Wolske; Here Comes the Mail: Post Offices of Kewaunee County, c. 2008 Kannerwurf, Sharpe & Johnson collection and the collection of L. Schwedler-Andre.



 
 




 

Friday, July 11, 2014

Ahnapee, Algoma and Furniture Meant to Last

Algoma is not regarded as a furniture manufacturing center today, and it never really was, however, the manufacture of chairs, tables, bedsteads and bureaus filled a niche early in the community's history. Until the coming of the railroad in 1892 and the increasing reliance on motor vehicles in the 1920's, furniture manufacturing provided village residents with incomes for about 60 years. It was furniture that was built to last. And it did.

When William Perry opened the Ahnapee Chair Factory in 1860, it was the first manufacturing plant for anything other than lumber. Located near Hall's Mill*, the factory moved into the Sterret building on the northwest corner of State and 4th in November 1870. Eighteen months later, the Enterprise reported that Ahnapee Manufacturing Co. was erecting machinery for turning out bedsteads and chairs. Over the years that company was sold and resold and resold again.

J. Anderegg and Co. took over the company in 1873. According to the Enterprise the new management included John Densow, Frank Feuerstein, William Boedecker, P.M. Simon and Simon Haag, and with those men there was sure to be an increase business. The Record noted in August 1878 that at least 2/3 of the community's businessmen had owned the establishment at one time or another during its 18 years. The table at the left is stamped "Patent, March 25, 1875.

Six years after Perry organized the chair factory, he and Rufus Wing opened a broom handle company. During the factory's construction, Perry was ridiculed by those who were sure the company would be a failure. Perry was a good businessman who was not easily discouraged. Those who predicted failure were proven right. Though the factory was completed, broom handles didn't make for a lasting business.

Today's Netto Palazzo was once Detjen's furniture factory. Herman Detjen had his beginnings in the early 1880s. In July 1890 he opened Detjen & Co. furniture store in the Seibt building at the northwest corner of 4th and State Streets. By then he was also manufacturing doors and other wood products, changing the company name to Ahnapee Manufacturing Co. Two years later the Record called attention to the factory's new patented dust collection system that took dust and shavings to the fire room for burning. The company again made news when it purchased a sanding machine and a machine to groove locks in drawers. The dresser at the left has those locks in all drawers.

As early as 1881, Kumbalek and Pies were manufacturing and repairing harnesses while also advertising their furniture making. Most of their ads pointed to their coffins, a sideline of most furniture manufacturers.

Ahnapee Veneer and Seating plant came about in 1892 on the approximate site of the old chair factory on the east side of the South Branch, just below the old Hall's Mill dam site. The plant built church pews, benches for railroad stations and any other kind of seating one wanted. The Veneer and Seating plant was a success from the beginning and is known as Algoma Hardwoods today, though seating is no longer part of the business. The plant was operating as Algoma Plywood and Veneer during World War ll when it distinguished itself with boat hulls, airplane wings and noses.

In May 1897 the wealthy Charles Griswold Boalt announced he'd build tables for both Herman Detjen and Paul Gablowsky. Gablowsky operated a planning mill and produced mostly cheese boxes, though he was also known to build coffins. Gablowsky was even advertising how much money his coffins could save a family. After all, they were locally made. A year after Boalt began manufacturing the tables, Gablowsky announced he'd make kitchen cabinets with zinc lined drawers, one of which was so large that it could hold 100# of flour. All that for $10.00.

Plumbers Woodwork made toilet seats for most of 100 years. To some, the manufactured wooden seats were regarded something special. For some, having that quality ranked as furniture. In the 1920s Algoma Wood Products was producing office and hotel furniture in the Navarino Street building constructed for the purpose. The building was eventually acquired by the Plywood as Plant 2 and is now Cape Townsend.

Area craftsman and hobbyists still build pieces of furniture, but furniture manufacturing in Algoma is long-gone. Many area residents enjoy beautiful pieces of old furniture handed down in families or found at area yard sales. Most don't realize the pieces were made in Ahnapee/Algoma with virgin maple, oak, hickory and black walnut cut from the thick forests that once made up Kewaunee County. Each piece has its own story to tell. And many do. The stamp below is on the underside of the table above.



* Hall's Mill was on the South Branch of the Wolf - now Ahnapee - River, beyond what became The Plumbers and then Olsonite.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Ahnapee & Dreams of Ore Docks


Had the village fathers of the 1870s gotten their way, perhaps today’s Algoma harbor would sport a piece of history such as the unused ore dock at Marquette, Michigan.  A September 1873 Record ran an ad looking for “men of capital” to establish a blast furnace, a paper and pulp mill, and more.
Ahnapee was a place with a harbor, the finest Lake Michigan harbor between Manitowoc and Baileys Harbor. Many saw it as a point of refuge. As early as 1859, Enterprize* Editor Dexter Garland said Ahnapee was equal to any port on the lake. Even Milwaukee papers lobbied for improvement of Ahnapee’s harbor. Many years later, on September 18, 1898,  Door County Advocate columnist  Doug Larson speculated it was only because of the ship canal that the railroad reached Sturgeon Bay. He felt Algoma (Ahnapee), because of its location on the lake shore and easier access to railroad service, could have been the commercial center of the entire region, and that  Green Bay developed as it did because of the canal.
Until the U.S. Engineers straightened the course of the river to what it is today, the mouth of the Ahnapee – or Wolf River then – was at the foot of Michigan Street.**A sandbar guarded the entrance of the river which lazily meandered downstream before making its "S" curve over that sandbar to flow into Lake Michigan. Boats with shallow drafts could usually make it over the bar, though that sandbar prevented all but the most adventuresome schooner captains from making the river. While the sandbar was a problem, a ridge of seemingly impenetrable  limestone was the  real sticking point.

By the late 1860s townsfolk were well aware  that although the harbor offered protection, it was the river that was the problem. Attendees at a February 5, 1870 harbor meeting felt harbor improvements would make it practical for rafts and other shallow vessels to be floated out to the schooners waiting in the lake, thus enabling cargo to get into the river. Residents wanted a protective pier and moved to secure government appropriations by asking the Legislature to authorize $20,000 in improvement bonds payable in one, two or three years. The $20,000 tax levy was voted in, 262 - 23, at a town meeting in April. When the Ella Doak entered the river in July 1873, townsfolk knew they were right.

But, the obstruction in the river was still there and it was the key.  Rock, about seven hundred feet long and one hundred fifty feet wide, needed to be removed to a depth of eight feet to ensure twelve feet of water at its lowest stage to ensure a sufficient basin. Enormous financial outlays seemed to make the rock removal impracticable, but since Ahnapee's harbor was the most central point for refuge along the shore, something had to be done. The U.S. Engineers felt Ahnapee's outer harbor might be constructed as Chicago's, only smaller. They knew the lake bottom was mostly clay, affording good holding ground, thereby eliminating the need for dredging before putting in cribs. Work went forward. One hundred and forty years later, dredging continues, though not for the same reasons.
Ahnapee’s natural advantages made it a prime manufacturing location, at least according to the Record. The fine harbor offered cheap, available transportation to Chicago, “the greatest market in the West.” The editors felt Upper Michigan iron ore was being shipped to distant cities while Ahnapee was much closer. Ahnapee labor costs were at least 50% less than in Eastern cities and natural resources abounded. Rent and insurance were much lower in Ahnapee, and the Record opined that it would not take long for “the intelligent mind” to realize Ahnapee’s superiority. Ahnapee was about 100 years ahead of its time offering free, desirable lots for manufacturing to “gentlemen of capital.”

Iron ore processing  and manufacturing remained in Chicago, Gary, Cleveland and the rest while citizens dreamed of what such industry could do for the area. Ironically, the only thing Ahnapee/Algoma  got from the iron ore business was the pollution coming north. Jutting out into Lake Michigan as it does, the peninsula with little industry is ripe for attracting pollutants from places such as Chicago and Gary. One hundred forty years later, Algoma is affected by iron ore. Just not the way our ancestors dreamed.

*The Enterprize became the Enterprise in 1865. **Michigan Street runs perpendicular to and east from Church Street one block south of North Water Street.  It was a street with a purpose in Algoma's early days. Finding it today is a  bit of a challenge.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

LaSalle Park and the Majestic Bluffs of Clay Banks


When The Abandoned Shore-Lines of Eastern Wisconsin was published in 1907, the 100 foot bluffs of Clay Banks – a Door County township named for those majestic bluffs - were by far the most impressive along Lake Michigan’s western shore.  A little over 20 years later, Governor Walter J. Kohler flew to the area to dedicate Door County’s newest county park. Named for French explorer Robert de LaSalle who is believed to have landed there in 1679, LaSalle Park is tucked into the southeast corner of Clay Banks, between County U and Lake Michigan.

Governor Kohler’s plane landed near the park that 1930 day, a day planned to mark the 250th anniversary of LaSalle’s landing. He didn't stay long as another speaking engagement forced him to be in and out. Congressman George Schneider and UW Professor Briggs also spoke, while the Carnot Band played throughout the program and all day. Following the speeches Door County Agent Rusy organized games and sporting events for those in attendance and those who were picnicking. Picnickers included the annual University of Wisconsin short course graduates from the 9 counties in Northeast Wisconsin. Door County historian and author Hjlamar Holand, who introduced the governor and the congressman, spoke on the park’s historical significance.

When LaSalle, the second* of Door County’s county parks, was created in 1929, it was a only 6 acres.  The upper part of the park was accessed from Co. Highway U via an entrance made of logs three feet in diameter.  The level terrace 100 feet above the lake along the highway served as a navigational aid long before the county’s first lighthouse.  The lower area was a place that offered camping and sports. Bisecting the two sections, was a forested hillside. At the time of the dedication, an 8’ by 3’ limestone shaft was erected as a monument to LaSalle. Two bronze plaques were inscribed with, “The most illustrious son of Normandy, storm driven and without food, in October 1679, Robert LaSalle with fourteen men, on a voyage to explore the interior of America, landed at this place. Expecting hostile Indians, he erected a barricade, but instead of war, they brought provisions and saved his life. Erected by Door County Historical Society, 1930.”

There were some who doubted the monument’s veracity as information was gleaned from the French explorer’s notes. Holand met the apprehension by saying, “As this peninsula was the scene of some very important events in the great explorer’s first expedition across the continent, which was endowed with historical glamour certain parts of our shores not otherwise famous, we do not want to lose this interesting historical legacy. Miss L. Schultz of the University of Wisconsin has therefore kindly made us a verbatim translation of that part of LaSalle’s official report which deals with his journey along the Wisconsin shore of Lake Michigan in 1670.” LaSalle’s report was written in the third person and Schultz’ translation was believed to be the first ever published.

As the story is told, LaSalle and about 20 men left what is now Washington Island to explore the (now named) Mississippi River to gain a New World foothold for France when a sudden storm forced them to seek shelter at the place that became the park. Uncertainty of hostile Indians prompted the men to climb the bluff and, using the bluff and slopes to their advantage, used logs to create a kind of fort on the south side of the park along a ravine. LaSalle had sent three men to buy provisions from an Indian village about 6 miles north when a band of Indians appeared on the north side of his camp. Besting the Indians didn’t appear to be an issue, if it came to that, but what about the three men? While at Washington Island, the head chief of all the Pottawatomie presented LaSalle’s party with a peace pipe, and it was that recognizable gift that acknowledged the chief's friendship thus ensuring there were no hostilities. Neither would the Indians Indians accept payment for the food they provided.

LaSalle Park began with a mere 6 acres. Volunteers cut down brush and pulled stumps, planted hundreds of new trees and leveled the terrain to provide ball fields and more. When the County Park Commission report was presented the following January, it seemed incredible that in about a year the acreage went from a tangled wilderness to a beautifully improved park. A concrete stairway protected both the environment and the public, and the toilets were an added convenience. The 5,000 who showed up for the dedication on the previous August 10 made up the most successful event the county had ever seen. And, it didn’t cost the county one penny! At the dedication of Kewaunee’s Marquette Monument in 1923, the speakers told not only of Father Marquette saying mass on the spot on All Souls Day, November 1, 1674, but also that “Jean Nicolet first met the natives” there in 1634 and that LaSalle, De Tonti, Hennepin, St. Cosme and others camped there.

Many a Kewaunee County resident has read about the explorers in history books that never mentioned Kewaunee County. As for LaSalle Park, a generation of Algoma High School students in groups such as FFA, FHA, GAA, debate, band and more had year end picnics there, as did Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts and 4-H. LaSalle has been the site of countless family reunions. Carefully tucked away in Clay Banks, it isn't widely known and over-run. But, if those bluffs could talk, the stories would be astounding!


Note: Tornado Memorial Park was the Door County’s first county park.

Information comes from The Abandoned Shore-Lines of Eastern Wisconsin, c. 1907, Door County Advocate and Algoma Record Herald.